The Problem with Being Earnest…

Earnest in the sense that one is expected to take appointments seriously and to take government programs seriously, thus preparing ahead and earnestly making an effort to be ready ON TIME for one’s future obligations.

THIS is an example of the multiple opportunities afforded one in this world on a daily basis, for the art of patience practicing.

Poor ppl can schedule medicaid-paid drivers to bring them to dr. apts. Missing Dr. appts can involve warnings, discharge as a patient, or monetary punishments. And the dr offices don’t care WHY you didn’t show and/or were late.

Apparently neither does “the state who offers Medicaid and drivers to ensure that people in need of healthcare get their healthcare.”

My car broke allll the way last week so I decided to schedule Medicaid drivers for my 3 appts this month. Does anyone ENJOY riding with strangers? Not really. But it’s lent so, sacrifice, and also, nothing wrong with helping the economy go round with affording a driver an opportunity to make money.

I tried scheduling on the “convenient” website. NOT convenient so I had to call to clarify. I was informed that I need to call 72 hours ahead, so my first (yesterday’s) appointment wasn’t in the time frame but she would forward the request to manager bc I’m kinda new at this. I never heard from manager and I got two confirmation emails for the other appointments so I contacted a relative last minute and was able to get to yesterday’s appointment.

Oddly, as I was waiting for my family ride, I got a call from a random, asking me if I still needed a ride.

me: ummmm…..I scraped up another ride for today and they are on their way….

him: oh ok I’ll cancel it then.

me: but I still need the one for tomorrow.

him: oh ok I’ll keep that in.

me: ok.

I rechecked email last night for pick up time. The pickup time I was originally confirmed for was 12:15 but they scheduled the pick up for 11:40 per the email.

So, had us all showered, dressed, packed (I put MAKE-UP ON) and ready at 11:40. 11:30 comes and no confirmation call like the one I got for yesterday’s appointment that noone told me was ever scheduled. One of my sons is very routinized. Uncool that at 11:40 pickup, then, STILL NOTHING. He’s sitting there. In his coat. Confused.

I call the only number I have: the automated med transport #. According to THAT robot, my ride is scheduled at 12:15.

It’s 12:09, my appointment is at 1:00PM, it takes 45 minutes to get to, and due to the nature and previous circumstances of this particular appointment, it’s not one that will be canceled easily and if I get booted, that could mean long waiting lists elsewhere.

12:12 and still I’ve not received a call from the driver to confirm, no text, no email. And no clue who the driver is and the 800 # is at LEAST a 20 minute process to speak to a person at which point it will already be physically impossible to arrive at my appointment.

Cue the Jeopardy music. Follow advice under the clock. Doooo do do dooo, dooo do dooooo

And technically I am supposed to be 15 minutes early to said appointment. To clarify, it takes about 30 min. to get to the place but I added the 15 minutes in because I need to be there early for the nurse.

So, it’s 12:14 and still no-one or nothing, thus I am now having the opportunity to practice anger management because how dare Medicaid screw with a person’s time and health? They offer the service, offer an unmanageable website, customer service reps who aren’t always the friendliest, managers who don’t get back, emails that are incorrect, drivers that may or may not show up. So, now I have to cancel my 1 o’clock appointment 45 minutes before the appointment, and is it my job to inform Medicaid of this? Which no doubt will include a time waste call in which I will be blamed somehow? And my next appointment is even MORE serious bc if they don’t get me to that one, I have to wait months to be rescheduled.

Well, I guess I will cancel my appointment now, at 12:20, get the coats etc. off the kids, unpack all the crap I had to bring, confuse the heck out of my son, and talk to God about this.

A practice in patience, in anger, an opportunity for discernment, and a testimony to all those out there who think people “on the system” just LOVE the EASE of being on the system bc it allows one to fulfill ones desire for laziness.

A. I put more work into this morning than many OFF the system people

B. being on the “system” is A FULL TIME JOB and I could write a WAR and PEACE sized memoir detailing the number of times I and others like me have been abused by the system workers abusing their power, yet, in all my years of system experience, I would be able to write only a one page essay on the number of poor people that I know who ABUSE the system.

#slaves #poorbecausetheyneedus #weRtheirjobsecurity

ps. I canceled my appointment. They were sympathetic bc they said even THEY schedule rides for ppl and it doesn’t happen.

AS SOON as I hung up a YELLOW CAB PULLED UP. They called. They beeped. I called. It was busy. They continued to beep like an Italian in Rome stuck in a traffic circle.

I made a rash decision and went out there. (no bueno as those of you unfortunate enough to witness past rash moments, can definitely attest).

I meant to patiently explain the gross lack of communication and that my appointment was now rescheduled.

It didn’t quite go that way. I spent five minutes in my angry Italian volume detailing every grueling point to some cab driver that had a cross between a poker face and a “I have no words bc you aren’t giving me a second to talk” face.

I was scolding the driver, really. Just. Yep. I FAILEDDDDDD THATTTT anger opportunity. I possibly passed my patience one but I’m so flared up AND I dropped 2 F bombs. VERY DISAPPOINTING.

I tried to make reparation with a “God Bless!!!” As I slid back to the house but I’m pretty sure it doesn’t count when you are yelling it. I mean, it WAS a sincere effort inside of myself, but eradicating these PTSD system symptoms WILL require reliance on God as my helper because I’ve tried on my own and failed EVERY. TIME.

God give me the memory to change the vices I cannot change without you.

Great. I’m officially Squidward. So humiliating.

Leave a comment

SoundEagle 🦅ೋღஜஇ

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Random things I think about.

Working on my next successful failure.

Mathtuition88

Math Tuition Singapore

The Godly Chic Diaries

BY GRACE THROUGH FAITH

Life Project Blog

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

THE RIVER WALK

Daily Thoughts and Meditations as we journey together with our Lord.

a k o s i l e

Before I forget

lifewithlilred

Life is better in red

The_slightly_hippie_mom

Almost Always Barefoot

(Metanoia)

Fan of GOD

the road

faith, Jesus, and a conversation on the road

somebodylovesmeblog

Sharing God's love with the world, one heart at a time.

Diary of a Little Peach

Parenting tips, product reviews, recipes, stories, and more.

Frank Solanki

If you want to be a hero well just follow me

BeautyBeyondBones

Because we’re all recovering from something.

Dr. Eric Perry’s Blog

Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

Laura Grace Weldon

Free Range Learning, Creative Living, Gentle Encouragement, Big Questions, Poetry, Occasional Drollery

Pink for Days

Parenting, books and general nonsense